Throwback Tuesday?

Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

Choosing one sensation was difficult, and it was even harder to pick one piece of music (I chose three). Each memory intertwines itself with the next and they continue to echo.

About 8 years into my life and 9 months after my brother was born, dinosaurs walked. More than the movie, I remember my brother running around as a Velociraptor for several years, and how excited he was when we visited the dinosaur park in Disney World where one of the “dino guys” took the time to talk with him. Their melody refuses to fade and like many others today, when we hear the haunting music, he reflects that same childhood excitement.

My parents don’t really have the same taste in music, except when it comes to Creedence Clearwater Revival. These voices bring back a lot of memories, especially of summer. We didn’t have central air, just this one big a/c wall unit in front of which my sister and I used to stand.  My Mom always had her hair real short and my Dad threw-off my friends with stories of his little people. I still wonder what he really sees when he looks out his backdoor.

My Abuelita taught this song to my sister and me. This is the Chilean version (YouTube has other weird versions). I italicized the middle verses because she didn’t teach us those. According to my sweet, fiesty ‘Uelita, we were never meant to do those tasks.

Arroz con Leche
Arroz con leche me quiero casar
con una señorita de Portugal.

Que sepa tejer, que sepa bordar
que se sepa las tablas de multiplicar.

Que sepa barrer, que sepa planchar,
que sepa abrir la puerta para ir a jugar.

Con esta sí,
con esta no,
¡Con esta señorita me caso YO!

Today I sing the song with my sister, my Mom, and my step-Mom (she’s Colombian and they sing the same version) whenever we eat arroz con leche.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Transporter.”

6 thoughts on “Throwback Tuesday?

  1. Sounds like you had some great memories here its funny how we connect with music and all the other things that surround us that can bring up a moment that we have joy or pain in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How to reply to my daughter’s post: two questions I had no idea needed answers seem to have been hanging over her for years. Should I try to tell her what she wants to know or should I still be as evasive as I have always been? Maybe I should let her look out my back door and see what she sees; after all she is my daughter so….

    Like

Leave a Reply

