3 AM – Tantrum

a howling whirlwind of rage
she lost her why moments before
causing bodily harm as she throws herself
across my face
a tiny foot greets my ribs
she reaches for the bottle
a deadly grenade at a time like this
lullabies fall on deaf ears
snuggles are met with resistance
but i secure my hold
leaving her only the screams

eventually she huffs

and rests her head on my shoulder

her little hand patting the center of my chest

sighing simultaneously

i can’t believe i lost her pacifier

Katerina Marks
21 June 2016
*Dedicated to my wonderfully sweet and rambunctious niece.

13516558_10101280101867417_7610175618574687818_n

6 thoughts on “3 AM – Tantrum

Leave a Reply

