fingers

my fingers

fingers

I wasn’t going to write about mine
they make people uncomfortable, sometimes

my niece’s tiny ones are much prettier
my sister’s are much more elegant

my fingers they’re pretty; they’re long; they’re slender

but…

they make people uncomfortable, sometimes
’cause my clumsy ones don’t make fists

limp handshakes sweaty palms let you notice
a weak almost non-existent handshake

try not to make any kind of face as you realize
my hands won’t really work as yours

maybe you are a person who sees past fragility
as you grip them you’ll make connection

wondering how I’m typing this?
on my mini iPad in the dojo

my fingers are indeed plenty capable

I type with my right middle knuckle
and often my left pinky knuckle

they make people uncomfortable, sometimes
’cause they fear to ask how and why

I love little kids they look touch ask
it’s not rude

my fingers though…

they are powerful, God has blessed them

they have created whole new worlds
works of art that open eyes to my perspective

my fingers have written love letters, words of rejection
my fingers have brushed away tears
stroked another’s hair
played Connect Four
dug holes in sand
smashed ants but not spiders
changed diapers
released nearly impossible buttons
applied makeup to nervous brides

yes these fingers have lived

it’s OK that they make some uncomfortable
not everyone’s eyes work the same

Katerina Marks
5 March 2015

*To learn more about Charcot-Marie-Tooth, please visit: http://www.cmtausa.org

17 thoughts on “fingers

  1. you are beutiful just the way God made you! You make me smile every time I read your posts and you are an overcomer, not a victim. It’s a beautiful life, and you know just how to live it! I’m so proud to be your friend. You’re a role model to many, though you might not know it. I love you and miss you sweet friend!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was great. Strong and telling and true even a little funny with just the right bit of smartass or kiss one’s ass at the end. I loved it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. How amazingly vulnerable and beautiful. I am blown away by your ease with words in this post. Geez, to even talk about my little issues scares the tar out of me. I admire you very much.

    Like

      1. That moment before you let your guard down for just a second, that feels like free-fall to me. I used to get sick every time I played Mario Bros. with my kids and I’d jump over a hole and not quite make it and disappear. It feels like that. Like hitting that button makes me wish immediately I could disappear, too. Or maybe it just makes me afraid I will. (I always did suck at video games!)

        Like

Leave a comment